Help Needed: back leg paralysis

This is an archive of previous forum messages.
Beth

Help Needed: back leg paralysis

Post by Beth »

My doxie, Gracie, lost use of her back legs today. She has no response or sensation in them. According to the vet, she has a 50/50 chance of recovery from surgery, which I cannot afford, anyway. I am considering caring for her with the paralysis-getting a wheelchair, the whole bit. But I have never done this before and need to know how consuming this will be. I am a single mom and have to work. Some days, I work 10 hours. And some periods of the year, our schedule is very busy. What does all this entail and is it feasible? I don't want her to end up with infections and bed sores. The thought of putting her down is unbearable at this point.
connie

Re: Help Needed: back leg paralysis

Post by connie »

beth, i feel for you. my yorkie mix lost his use of hind feet last nov. due to ruptured disk. he also was given slight chance, 40% to the good. but he had the surgery. it was costly, but i had a vet that is letting me pay it out monthly( never hurts to ask). anyway i am so glad i did. cricket is still paralized in hind feet, but he spinal walks , he runs and plays and is healthy. i have to empty his bladder but he has never gotten an infection yet! the vet told me not to get wheels for him becaue he spinal walks so good. but of course every case is different. what caused your fur baby to get paralyzed?
cricket had his surgery, i kept him in a crate for rest for 6 weeks to heal. and i really stress P.T. keep those muscles and joints working. i also do hyrotherapy with him in bathtub 3 times a week. if you want to see spinal walking, i have a video of cricket on the net. here is the web site
www.youtube.com
click on video's and in search, type in
"cricket's walking video"

they can do amazing things with the proper care and P.T.