CH and deaf kitten pooping on himself

For urgent matters only. Please post all other requests in the appropriate category. Do not post "Rescue Needed" or "Financial Aid Needed" here. They have their own forums (below).
Forum rules
If your pet has a medical emergency, please contact a veterinarian immediately.
brittanne05

CH and deaf kitten pooping on himself

Post by brittanne05 »

I just rescued a male kitten 4 days ago and took him to the vet and found that he has Cerebellar Hypoplasia and he is deaf. He is 6 weeks old. He has acted as normal as can be expected with a new environment and all but today he has diarrhea and it is grey. He got it all over himself. I've been trying to letterbox train but when I show him the litterbox he just turns in circles over and over. I'm very new to CH and I don't know how to go about that so any advice on that would be deeply appreciated. On the note of his poop being grey, I contacted the vet and he did not seem too concerned. He told me to bring him in for his scheduled visit in two weeks and just keep an eye on him. I've never seen grey diarrhea before and it's very concerning to me. Do I need to bring him to the emergency vet?
critters
Founding Member

Re: CH and deaf kitten pooping on himself

Post by critters »

:whale: Hmm. The diarrhea is very concerning to me, too. As for the CH,https://www.facebook.com/groups/533829820023169 is good. My current brain damaged permakitten has never used a litter box in his life; it's just missing from his head. He's perfectly willing to use a disposable pee pad, though (and he has a triple dose of dig-and-cover, so I have to put down big ones). I've forgotten how to put pics into posts, or I'd try to get one up here. :oops:
BendyMom
mutant kitty expert

Post by BendyMom »

Diarrhea in a kitten is always a concern in my book. they can dehydrate quickly.
My vet has often told me that most vets don't see many tiny kittens, they are used to older kittens, who aren't as fragile.