Declawing a blind kitten

Blind and deaf pets can live happy, healthy, quality lives. In fact, sometimes it's hard to tell them from sighted pets. They do, though, have their own special needs.
amyquaintance

Declawing a blind kitten

Post by amyquaintance »

Hello everyone!

This is my first time on this website/forum. Tomorrow I am adopting a blind kitten. I am terrified, nervous, and excited all at the same time! This website has been very helpful and I am using a lot of information from it. Here's my question: I have two 1-year-old cats already and I had both of them declawed in their front paws. (Painlessly with a laser.) I am worried that declawing my new blind kitten could be harmful to it. Will he NEED his front claws?

Thanks!

-Amy
Christine

Re: Declawing a blind kitten

Post by Christine »

Hi Amy....and Welcome!

I did some searching around about declawing a blind kitten and found nothing (which you probably also found out!).

This is just my own opinion, but I would postpone that decision until you and the kitten adjust to the way he will fit into your household and lifestyle. You may find that it is not necessary. We have many cat experts in our group and I am sure they will have some good advice for you. There is a lot of good advice in the Deaf and Blind category too. Here is something I found from another blind cat owner:

"Don't move your furniture around and don't leave anything lying around on the floor (shoes, boxes, etc.). The blind cat will learn the layout of your home remarkably quickly.

Don't change things or he/she will get confused.

Push your kitchen chairs into the table to give the blind cat a few less things to walk into.
Talk to the cat whenever you approach it.

Pick it up as little as you can and if you do pick it up be sure to put it down in an area that it is very familiar with so it won't get confused. For example, we always put Stevie down near his food and water bowls so he knows where he is.