Sheltie with FCE

A forum where caretakers of elderly, disabled, and handicapped pets can chat with one another about topics that don't fit in other categories.
CHERYLGB

Sheltie with FCE

Post by CHERYLGB »

Hi, this is my first time posting so not sure I am posting in correct area. Looking for advice and support regarding sheltie newly diagnosed with FCE. He is 9 yrs old. Has some movement front legs. No movement in back.
CarolC

Re: Sheltie with FCE

Post by CarolC »

FCE usually has a good outcome, so while it is a shock when it happens, you have reason to be optimistic. The great majority of dogs recover and go on to live normal lives. Aggressive physical therapy is the recommended treatment. If you can afford professional PT such as the underwater treadmill, it would be great, but if not you can do PT at home. I am thinking that a dog with a long coat like a sheltie getting in the water 2 or 3 times a week would require blow drying this time of year, but PT is wonderful. If possible, perhaps you can take him for at least one session where they can evaluate him and tell you what exercises would help him, so you have a list of what to do at home. Does your dog have bladder control? Do you have a good sling or harness for him?
CHERYLGB

Post by CHERYLGB »