Trooper & I are new here

Neurological Disorders Resources. Treatment and care for pets having pain or trouble walking or standing due to spinal injuries or neurological disorders like IVDD, FCE and DM.
troopersmommy

Trooper & I are new here

Post by troopersmommy »

I've been rescuing animals for over 40 years and have had numerous handicapped pets. But Trooper is my first paralyzed rescue. I found him in the middle of the street after a "hit & run" accident that left this feral kitty partially paralyzed. I called my husband, (who came to my rescue once again) and we managed to get him home. We observed him for 24 hrs. thinking he'd die during the night - that was 4 weeks ago. I didn't take him to the vet to avoid the usual "probably should put him down" diagnosis. We have rehabilitated numerous animals with love, patience, knowledge from past experiences, vet care when required and lots of faith. Our home seems to be a "healing home". Anyway, now that I've found this site and the solutions to some of the difficulties I've encountered (diapers, special beds, comfort pads, etc.) I think Trooper will be able to live as the pampered baby he deserves to be. The toughest obstacle now is to get him to trust me. He can "pee and poop" on his own, but requires constant cleaning to avoid raw spots and sores. (I think the diapers will help here.) He can move his back legs a little, but is unable to stand. His upper half looks completely normal, beautiful orange and white fur, very alert green eyes, but his back half is getting thin from muscle atrophy. He is actually allowing me to wash his back legs, hind quarters and tail- very cautiously. He didn't eat or drink water for the first 2 days, but now is actually a little piggy. He eats more than any of my other kitties. I haven't introduced him to the other cats yet, until he gets used to me and his new "life". If anyone has any suggestions or ideas to offer, I would gladly receive them. This is definitely a "one day at a tim