IVVD

Neurological Disorders Resources. Treatment and care for pets having pain or trouble walking or standing due to spinal injuries or neurological disorders like IVDD, FCE and DM.
Greta'sMom

IVVD

Post by Greta'sMom »

Hi,
10 yr old boxer mix couldn't get up Monday morning back legs... went to vet. tested for lyme did x-rays spine...herniated disc between L3-L4. Surgery just too costly...so we decided to try the meds. She did get cortisone shot in the office (yesterday), we took her home w/dexamethazone, robaxin, and amoxicillin. He said to give it a week and if no better to put her down..my heart is broken...she is in no pain and is completly herself..loves kissing...Is incontinent of urine so far, we have her in a crate w/good padding and many towels which we change often...keeping her clean...She does move her position and I think I have seen leg moving a little...how long before I have to help her move bowels??? I am a nurse so am familiar..have been sick over this since yesterday...any advice would be greatly appreciated...have been praying constantly...really love her and she loves us..she was a rescue..she was abused..we adopted her when she was 2 years old. I hate the thought of putting her to rest.... Thanks..
Bobbie
Wheelchair Expert

Re: IVVD

Post by Bobbie »

You don't have to put her down just because she becomes a paraplegic. You can use diapers inside if the urinary incontinence remains, and you can help her move her bowels (its pretty easy) and she can be a very happy dog. She might or might not walk again without assistance. My corgi Candy hasn't walked on his back legs for 5 1/2 years. You will never meet a happier dog! Check out some of his videos in my Squidoo link, below.

That isn't quite the worst case- in a very few dogs the spinal cord deteriorates and causes death- but its the usual worst case scenario, and any amount you get back is icing on the cake.