paralized dashund

Neurological Disorders Resources. Treatment and care for pets having pain or trouble walking or standing due to spinal injuries or neurological disorders like IVDD, FCE and DM.
lorij

paralized dashund

Post by lorij »

I am new to this dilema. My little dog Miss Fern has paraysis of her back legs. She still can wag her tail and at times has bladder and bowel control. I am looking for advice on how to keep a doggie diaper on her and keep her from leaking. I am using a washable diaper that velcros together with a poise pad on the liner. My sister suggested an infant onesie to keep it on. That works pretty well as it snaps together between her legs with room for her tail to stick out, but we still have some leaks at times. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. How are others taking care of their pets like Miss Fern? It is difficult at best and we are trying to make the best of the situation.
Christine

Re: paralized dashund

Post by Christine »

Hi Lorij,

Please take a look at the information here and then feel free to come back and ask as many questions as you want. Crate rest is crucial. It sounds as though you will need to express little Miss Fern to avoid her getting a urinary tract infection. Once she is emptying her bladder on a regular schedule, you may not have to be concerned about a diaper. Have you been to the vet? Dodger's List is a group of people with this same problem. We would love to see a picture of this little lady.

http://handicappedpet.net/helppets/view ... =4&t=10626

:welcomepink:
Christine... and Bailey, playing at the Bridge
?/1999 - 10/25/08
CarolC

Re: paralized dashund

Post by CarolC »