Intro: Bubby's Journey

Neurological Disorders Resources. Treatment and care for pets having pain or trouble walking or standing due to spinal injuries or neurological disorders like IVDD, FCE and DM.
zolla

Intro: Bubby's Journey

Post by zolla »

I am so excited to find this forum of people like us!!! My husband and I have been caring for Bubby for 2 years now. She is a 8 year old Australian Shepherd/Lab mix and a total sweet pea. She loves people, especially babies, and cannot rest until she has greeted everyone in the room.

She was hit by a car and required 4 surgeries to her hind legs and hips. ($8,000 - I mention this only so that others know they are not alone when spending a lot. We could have bought a nice car, but we decided to save a life instead. I think we got the better deal.) None of her internal organs were injured, just her bones, which the doctor was able to put back together. She has strength and feeling in her back legs, and she can stand for a few seconds with support, but she is wobbly, and she cannot support her back end long enough to walk. We assume that spinal trauma is the reason why she has not walked again, but the doctors are puzzled. We are still waiting for a miracle, but in the meantime, have seen more positives come from this than negatives. It has been worth it.

I'm looking forward to getting to know all of you and learning from your wisdom!!!

Here are some things we have learned:

1) When things get hard, be patient, and get creative: I can't tell you how many times we have run into a road block and beat our heads against the wall in frustration, only to find a solution a few days or weeks later.