Advice?

For those seeking advice on caring for incontinent pets and animals with kidney-related problems.
klehinger

Advice?

Post by klehinger »

Hi...I posted about my dog awhile ago and got some lovely advice, so I hope to benefit from everyone's experience here. I'm rather new at this...

My dog recently came down with Vestibular disease and is being tested for low thyroid function. Long story short, this equates to LOTS of accidents in the house (both kinds) and the constant pacing and circling spread it everywhere. It's a nightmare but I love him and refuse to put him down as long as he is still happy.

I am going to try the poop on demand techniques that I saw here, but that will only help so much. The carpet is done for and I desperately need to pull it up due to the smell, but I am at a loss for ideas about protecting the floor underneath. I can't crate him (I tried and the cleanup is even worse) and he doesn't seem to have any preferred spot. How does one protect the floors from this? Do the male wraps really work well? My only worry with those is that with the amount he is drinking, he is producing an extremely high volume of urine, and I'm not sure a small pad can handle it. The diapers work well but have a tendancy to slip out of position while he's pacing so it's hit or miss...

Any advice would be much appreciated!
GabrielDeafBlindPupFamily

Re: Advice?

Post by GabrielDeafBlindPupFamily »

Right up my alley!
on the "spot", put a dollar store plastic table cloth, cover with bath mat or fabric. TOSS ALL IN WASHING MACHINE!
Or puppy pee pads, which are a whole lot more expensive!
Karen, Andy's ^i^ mom
Lethal White Aussies Rule!
INTERACTIVE RESCUE SITE!
http://www.s8.createphpbb.com/lethalwhiteauss/
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/LethalWhiteAussieRescue/
Cindidoxiemom

Post by Cindidoxiemom »

If you pull up your carpet, they make a cement sealer/paint. Check at Home Depot or Lowes. You could paint the cement so that you can just mop up the accidents.