Looking for suggestions for caring for an injured feral cat

Post any other problems here that do not fit into the categories above.
HDIllon

Looking for suggestions for caring for an injured feral cat

Post by HDIllon »

I have been feeding a feral cat that has an old leg injury for a couple of months now. Today I knowticed that the cat had gotten a nasty puncture wound on its neck. I managed to capture the cat (with out touching it) and aminal control took it to the vet for me. The vet estimates that the cat is 8 months to a year old. The cat should heal fine from the puncture wound, but the vet can't do much for the old leg injury. I do not want to release the cat as he will probably get injured again since his leg hampers his mobility. I am thinking of keeping the cat, the problem is that I already have two cats and because the puncture wound on the feral cat is most likely a bite I would have to keep him seprate from my other cats for six months. While I can keep the feral cat in a seprate room, I feel that he will eventually try to escape when I open the door. I am looking for suggestions for a way I could set things up to keep the feral cat in my house. I have surfed the internet and not found info for this particular situation. I will not be able to directly handle the cat as he is wild and if he scratches or bites me I will need to get rabies shots. The cat will be at the vets for a coulpe of days, by which time I will need to have figured something out.
Thanks you in advance for all sugestions.
hdillon
Christine

Re: Looking for suggestions for caring for an injured feral

Post by Christine »

Hi...and welcome to the board!

Softies of a feather, flock together, don't we? Just this weekend, my husband and I stopped at an interesting looking yard sale which just so happened to be a fund raiser for "For the Love of Cats".